Hurricane Field Program Update – Saturday, Sept. 23, 2017, 11 AM ET

OPERATIONS

Saturday, 23, Sept. 2017

NOAA42: The P3 is tasked to fly an Unmanned Aerial System (UAS) Coyote/Doppler Wind Lidar (DWL) research mission into Hurricane Maria. Take off is scheduled for 1:00 PM ET (1700 UTC) from Lakeland, FL. Four HRD scientists will be on this flight.

G-IV: No flights are scheduled.

Sunday, 24, Sept. 2017

NOAA42: The P3 is tasked by EMC to fly a Tail Doppler Radar mission into Hurricane Maria. Take off is scheduled for 1:00 AM ET (0500 UTC) from Lakeland, FL. No HRDers will be on this flight.

NOAA42: The P3 is tasked to fly a UAS Coyote/DWL research mission into Hurricane Maria. Take off is scheduled for 1:00 PM ET (1700 UTC) from Lakeland, FL. Four HRD scientists will be on this flight.

G-IV: The jet is tasked by NHC to fly a synoptic surveillance mission around Hurricane Maria. Take off from Lakeland, FL is scheduled for 1:30 PM Et (1730 UTC). No HRDers will be on this flight.

…………………………………………………………………….

For the latest information about tropical cyclones and other weather systems, please visit the NOAA/NWS/National Hurricane Center.

To access updates on IFEX and other HRD activities via Facebook, Twitter, or RSS feed, check out the HRD page.

To directly access updates on IFEX HFP Operations via our WordPress blog on the web, check the site: https://noaahrd.wordpress.com/category/ifex-hurricane-field-program/

DISCLAIMER: The above discussion is intended to provide a brief summary of recent and future HRD Hurricane Field Program Operations. Any use of this material beyond its original intent is prohibited without permission of the HRD Director. Media inquiries should be directed to Evan Forde (305-361-4327) or Evan.Forde@noaa.gov, Monica Allen (301-734-1123) or Monica.Allen@noaa.gov.