Hurricane Field Program Update – Friday, Sept. 8, 2017, 11 AM ET

OPERATIONS

Friday, 8 Sept. 2017

G-IV: The G-IV was tasked by NHC for a synoptic surveillance mission around Hurricane Irma. Takeoff was around 0530 UTC (1:30 AM ET) from Lakeland, FL. No HRD scientists were on this flight.

NOAA42: The P3 was tasked by NOAA’s Environmental Modeling Center for a Tail Doppler Radar mission into Hurricane Irma. Takeoff was at 0724 UTC (3:24 AM ET) from Lakeland Linder Regional Airport, Lakeland, FL. Three HRD scientists were on this flight.

G-IV: The G-IV is tasked by NHC for a synoptic surveillance mission around Hurricane Irma. Takeoff is scheduled for 1730 UTC (1:30 PM ET) from Barbados. No HRD scientists will be on this flight.

NOAA42: The P3 is tasked by NOAA’s Environmental Modeling Center for a Tail Doppler Radar mission into Hurricane Irma. Takeoff is scheduled for 1900 UTC (3 PM ET) from Lakeland Linder Regional Airport, Lakeland, FL. Three HRD scientists will be on this flight.

Saturday, 9 Sept. 2017

G-IV: The G-IV is tasked by NHC for a synoptic surveillance mission around Hurricane Irma. Takeoff is scheduled for 0530 UTC (1:30 AM ET). No HRD scientists will be on this flight.

NOAA42: The P3 is tasked by NOAA’s Environmental Modeling Center for a Tail Doppler Radar mission into Hurricane Irma. Takeoff is scheduled for 0800 UTC (4 AM ET). Three HRD scientists will be on this flight.

NOAA42: The P3 is tasked by NHC to do a 2:00 PM ET (1800 UTC) center fix in Hurricane Irma. Takeoff will be from Lakeland, FL and then the P3 will recover in New Orleans, LA. No HRD scientists will be on this flight.

…………………………………………………………………….

For the latest information about tropical cyclones and other weather systems, please visit the NOAA/NWS/National Hurricane Center.

To access updates on IFEX and other HRD activities via Facebook, Twitter, or RSS feed, check out the HRD page.

To directly access updates on IFEX HFP Operations via our WordPress blog on the web, check the site: https://noaahrd.wordpress.com/category/ifex-hurricane-field-program/

DISCLAIMER: The above discussion is intended to provide a brief summary of recent and future HRD Hurricane Field Program Operations. Any use of this material beyond its original intent is prohibited without permission of the HRD Director. Media inquiries should be directed to Evan Forde (305-361-4327) or Evan.Forde@noaa.gov, Monica Allen (301-734-1123) or Monica.Allen@noaa.gov.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s