Hurricane Field Program Update – Tuesday, Aug. 8, 2017 11AM Eastern

OPERATIONS

Tuesday, 8 Aug. 2017

G-IV:  No flights are scheduled.

NOAA42: Is scheduled fly a Tail Doppler Radar mission into Tropical Storm Franklin. Take off is scheduled for 2200 UTC (6:00PM Eastern) to and from Lakeland Linder Regional Airport, Lakeland, FL. Three HRD scientists will be on this flight.

Global Hawk: Is scheduled to fly a mission over Tropical Storm Franklin. Take off is scheduled for 2300 UTC (7:00PM Eastern) from NASA’s Armstrong Research Flight Facility, Edwards, CA. This flight is part of NASA’s East Pacific Origins and Characteristics of Hurricanes (EPOCH) field project.

Wednesday, 9 Aug. 2017

G-IV: No flights are scheduled.

NOAA42: Is scheduled to fly a Tail Doppler Radar mission into Tropical Storm Franklin. Take off is scheduled for 0800 UTC (4:00AM Eastern) to and from Lakeland Linder Regional Airport, Lakeland, FL. Three HRD scientists will be on this flight.

Global Hawk:  Is scheduled to land at NASA’s Armstrong Research Flight Facility, Edwards, CA around 2100 UTC (5:00PM Eastern).

…………………………………………………………………….

For the latest information about tropical cyclones and other weather systems, please visit the NOAA/NWS/National Hurricane Center web site at:http://www.nhc.noaa.gov

To access updates on IFEX and other HRD activities via Facebook, Twitter, or RSS feed, check out the HRD home page at: http://www.aoml.noaa.gov/hrd

To directly access updates on IFEX HFP Operations via our WordPress blog on the web, check the site: https://noaahrd.wordpress.com/category/ifex-hurricane-field-program/

DISCLAIMER: The above discussion is intended to provide a brief summary of recent and future HRD Hurricane Field Program Operations. Any use of this material beyond its original intent is prohibited without permission of the HRD Director. Media inquiries should be directed to Evan Forde (305-361-4327) or Evan.Forde@noaa.gov, Monica Allen (301-734-1123) or Monica.Allen@noaa.gov.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s