Hurricane Field Program Update – Wednesday, Sept. 21, 2016 11AM Eastern

OPERATIONS

Wednesday, 21 Sept. 2016

NOAA43: Flew a research mission into Karl. Take off was around 0600 UTC (2AM Eastern) to and from St. Croix, US Virgin Islands. Three HRD scientists were on this flight.

G-IV:  Is scheduled to fly a research mission around and over Karl. Take off is scheduled for 1730 UTC (1:30PM Eastern) to and from St. Croix, US Virgin Islands. One HRD scientist will be on this flight.

Global Hawk: Is scheduled to take off at 1800 UTC (2PM Eastern) from NASA’s Wallops Flight Facility, VA. The Global Hawk will fly over Karl. This flight is part of NOAA’s Sensing Hazards with Operational Unmanned Technology (SHOUT) field campaign. A go-no-go decision will be made later today.

NOAA43:  Was scheduled to fly a research mission into Karl with a take off time of 1800 UTC (2PM Eastern). This flight is cancelled.

Thursday, 22 Sept. 2016

NOAA43:  Was scheduled to fly a research mission into Karl with take off time of 0600 UTC (2AM Eastern). This flight is cancelled.

Global Hawk: If this flight is a go it is scheduled to land around 1800 UTC (2PM Eastern) at NASA’s Wallops Flight Facility, VA.

G-IV:  Is tentatively scheduled to fly a research mission around and over Karl. Take off is scheduled for 1730 UTC (1:30PM Eastern) to and from St. Croix, US Virgin Islands. No HRD scientists will be on this flight.

NOAA43:  Is tentatively scheduled to fly a research mission into Karl. Take off is scheduled for 1800 UTC (2PM Eastern) to and from St. Croix, US Virgin Islands. Three HRD scientists will be on this flight. A go-no-go decision will be made later today.

…………………………………………………………………….

For the latest information about tropical cyclones and other weather systems, please visit the NOAA/NWS/National Hurricane Center web site at:http://www.nhc.noaa.gov

To access updates on IFEX and other HRD activities via Facebook, Twitter, or RSS feed, check out the HRD home page at: http://www.aoml.noaa.gov/hrd

To directly access updates on IFEX HFP Operations via our WordPress blog on the web, check the site: https://noaahrd.wordpress.com/category/ifex-hurricane-field-program/

DISCLAIMER: The above discussion is intended to provide a brief summary of recent and future HRD Hurricane Field Program Operations. Any use of this material beyond its original intent is prohibited without permission of the HRD Director. Media inquiries should be directed to Erica Rule (305-361-4541) or Erica.Rule@noaa.gov, Evan Forde (305-361-4327) or Evan.Forde@noaa.gov, Monica Allen (301-734-1123) or Monica.Allen@noaa.gov.

This entry was posted in Data Assimilation, HFIP-Hurricane Forecast Improvement Project, IFEX - Hurricane Field Program and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.