Hurricane Field Program Update – Wednesday, Aug. 31, 2016 11AM Eastern

OPERATIONS

Wednesday, 31 Aug. 2016

NOAA43: Was scheduled to fly into Tropical Disturbance Nine (TD9) with a take off time of 0430 UTC (1230AM Eastern). This was was cancelled due to mechanical issues that are now fixed.

NOAA43: Is scheduled to fly an NHC operationally tasked reconnaissance mission into TD9. This means that the National Hurricane Center requested this flight. Take off is scheduled for 1600 UTC (12PM Eastern) to and from MacDill Air Force Base, Tampa, FL. Three HRD scientists will be on this flight.

Global Hawk: Is scheduled fly again over TD9. Take off is scheduled for 2200 UTC (6PM Eastern) from NASA’s Wallops Flight Facility, VA. This flight is part of NOAA’s Sensing Hazards with Operational Unmanned Technology (SHOUT) field campaign.

Thursday, 1 Sept. 2016

NOAA43: Is scheduled to fly an NHC operationally tasked reconnaissance mission into TD9. Take off is scheduled for 0400 UTC (12AM Eastern) to and from MacDill Air Force Base, Tampa, FL. Three HRD scientists will be on this flight.

NOAA43: Is  tentatively scheduled to fly an NHC operationally tasked reconnaissance mission into TD9. Take off is scheduled for 1600 UTC (12PM Eastern) to and from MacDill Air Force Base, Tampa, FL. Three HRD scientists will be on this flight.

Global Hawk: Depending on the weather conditions at the landing site the global hawk is scheduled to land either 1000 UTC (6AM Eastern) or 2200 UTC (6PM Eastern) at NASA’s Wallops Flight Facility, VA.

…………………………………………………………………….

For the latest information about tropical cyclones and other weather systems, please visit the NOAA/NWS/National Hurricane Center web site at:http://www.nhc.noaa.gov

To access updates on IFEX and other HRD activities via Facebook, Twitter, or RSS feed, check out the HRD home page at: http://www.aoml.noaa.gov/hrd

To directly access updates on IFEX HFP Operations via our WordPress blog on the web, check the site: https://noaahrd.wordpress.com/category/ifex-hurricane-field-program/

DISCLAIMER: The above discussion is intended to provide a brief summary of recent and future HRD Hurricane Field Program Operations. Any use of this material beyond its original intent is prohibited without permission of the HRD Director. Media inquiries should be directed to Erica Rule (305-361-4541) or Erica.Rule@noaa.gov, Evan Forde (305-361-4327) or Evan.Forde@noaa.gov, Monica Allen (301-734-1123) or Monica.Allen@noaa.gov.