Hurricane Field Program Update – Monday, Aug. 8, 2016 11AM Eastern

OPERATIONS

Monday, 8 Aug 2016

NOAA43: Is scheduled to fly a Doppler Wind Lidar/Coyote research mission. The goals of this mission is to gather data with the Doppler Wind Lidar instrument and to launch the Unmanned aircraft – the Coyote to collect data in Tropical Storm Javier. Take off is scheduled for 1800 UTC (1PM Central) to and from Harlingen, TX. Three HRD scientists will be on this flight.

Tuesday, 9 Aug 2016

NOAA43: Is scheduled to fly a Doppler Wind Lidar research mission. Take off is scheduled for 0600 UTC (1AM Central) to and from Harlingen, TX. Three HRD scientists will be on this flight.

…………………………………………………………………….

For the latest information about tropical cyclones and other weather systems, please visit the NOAA/NWS/National Hurricane Center web site at: http://www.nhc.noaa.gov

To access updates on IFEX and other HRD activities via Facebook, Twitter, or RSS feed, check out the HRD home page at: http://www.aoml.noaa.gov/hrd

To directly access updates on IFEX HFP Operations via our WordPress blog on the web, check the site: https://noaahrd.wordpress.com/category/ifex-hurricane-field-program/

DISCLAIMER: The above discussion is intended to provide a brief summary of recent and future HRD Hurricane Field Program Operations. Any use of this material beyond its original intent is prohibited without permission of the HRD Director. Media inquiries should be directed to Erica Rule (305-361-4541) or Erica.Rule@noaa.gov, Evan Forde (305-361-4327) or Evan.Forde@noaa.gov, Monica Allen (301-734-1123) or Monica.Allen@noaa.gov.