Hurricane Field Program Update – Wednesday, July 2, 2014 10:15AM Eastern

OPERATIONS

Wednesday, July 2, 2014

NOAA42: Flew a TDR mission into TS Arthur that took off around 0600 UTC (2AM Eastern) and landed eight hours later in MacDill AFB. Three HRD scientists and one intern were on this flight.

G-IV: Is tasked by NHC to fly a synoptic surveillance mission around TS Arthur taking off at 1730 UTC (1:30PM Eastern) from MacDill and recover back at MacDill. No HRDers will be on this flight.

NOAA43: Is tasked by EMC for a TDR mission into TS Arthur. Take off will be at 1800 UTC (2PM Eastern) from MacDill and will recover back at MacDill. Three HRD scientists and two interns will be on this flight.

Thursday, July 3, 2014

NOAA42: Is tasked by EMC for a TDR mission into TS Arthur. Take off will be at 0600 UTC (2AM Eastern) from MacDill and will recover back at MacDill. Three HRD scientists and two interns will be on this flight.

G-IV: Is tasked by HRD to fly a TDR mission around TS Arthur taking off at 1730 UTC (1:30PM Eastern) from MacDill and recover back at MacDill. No HRDers will be on this flight.

NOAA43: Is tasked by EMC for a TDR mission into TS Arthur. Take off will be at 1800 UTC (2PM Eastern) from MacDill and will recover back at MacDill. Three HRD scientists and two interns will be on this flight.
…………………………………………………………………….

For the latest information about tropical cyclones and other weather systems, please visit the NOAA/NWS/National Hurricane Center web site at

http://www.nhc.noaa.gov

To access updates on IFEX and other HRD activities via Facebook, Twitter, or RSS feed, check out the HRD home page at
http://www.aoml.noaa.gov/hrd

To directly access updates on IFEX HFP Operations via our WordPress blog on the web, check the site
https://noaahrd.wordpress.com/category/ifex/

DISCLAIMER: The above discussion is intended to provide a brief summary of recent and future HRD Hurricane Field Program Operations. Any use of this material beyond its original intent is prohibited without permission of the HRD Director. Media inquiries should be directed to Erica Rule (305-361-4541) or Erica.Rule@noaa.gov, Evan Forde (305-361-4327) or Evan.Forde@noaa.gov.

 

This entry was posted in Data Assimilation, HFIP-Hurricane Forecast Improvement Project, IFEX - Hurricane Field Program, Observations and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.