Hurricane Field Program Update – Tuesday, September 14, 2010 AT 3:30 PM EDT

OPERATIONS

NOAA P-3s

Tuesday September 14

NOAA-42: N42′s scheduled IFEX Genesis mission in AL92 is cancelled. Departure from St. Croix is at 2000 UTC (4:00 PM EDT) ferrying back to McDill AFB/Tampa.

NOAA-43: DOWN DAY – No flight.

Wednesday September 15

NOAA-43: will ferry back to McDill AFB/Tampa. Takeoff time TBA.

G-IV

Tuesday, September 14

NOAA-49: N49 took off from STX at 1730 UTC (1:30PM EDT) on a research mission around AL92. Recovery is at McDill AFB/Tampa.

Wednesday, September 15

NOAA-49: No flight scheduled.

AFRC DRIFT BUOY DEPLOYMENT: No missions scheduled for next 24 h.

CONFERENCE CALL

There is an HRD Conference call tomorow, Tuesday September 14 at 10:30 AM.

The daily Tri-Agency list information from Michael Goodman for the noon project briefing. This conference is at 12:00 Noon every day and is by invitation only.

RAB

For the latest information about tropical cyclones and other weather systems, please visit the NOAA/NWS Tropical Prediction Center/National Hurricane Center’s web site at http://www.nhc.noaa.gov

To access updates on IFEX and other HRD activities via Facebook, Twitter, or RSS feed, check out the HRD home page at http://www.aoml.noaa.gov/hrd

To directly access updates on IFEX HFP Operations via our WordPress blog on the web, check the site http://noaahrd.wordpress.com/category/ifex/

DISCLAIMER: The above discussion is intended to provide a brief summary of recent and future HRD Hurricane Field Program Operations. Any use of this material beyond its original intent is prohibited without permission of the HRD director. Media inquiries should be directed to Erica Rule (305-361-4541) or Erica.Rule@noaa.gov , Evan Forde (305-361-4327) or Evan.Forde@noaa.gov , or Jana Goldman (301-713-2483) or Jana.Goldman@noaa.gov